Affection, Loss & Revival

L. v. Beethoven: The three last sonatas for piano

Saturday, 6 March 2021
Pallas Cinema – theatre, Lefkosia

Sonata no. 30 in E major, Op. 109
Sonata no. 31 in A flat major, Op. 110
Sonata no. 32 in C minor, Op. 111

Ledra Music Soloists invites you to a piano recital by Nicolas Costantinou in honour of the 250th anniversary of the birth of the imposing, pioneering and deeply human Ludwig van Beethoven. The date, which also marks the end of the celebrations, is significant, being the composer’s christening date (the exact date of birth has not been documented, but, based on contemporary practices, it is estimated that he was born the day before). The recital features the last three piano sonatas, an enigmatic and extremely personal triptych from the late period, written during the years 1820–21. In these works, each with its own distinct qualities, the composer frees himself from tradition (rather than discard it) and expresses himself with honesty and sincerity, in an unprecedented way.


Important notice: We encourage patrons to purchase tickets in advance, as seating is limited and assigned numerically. (Alternatively, and for exceptional cases, patrons may reserve available tickets at 99 434 636 for purchase at the box office on the evening of the performance.) We kindly ask guests to arrive at the venue, wearing masks, at least 45 minutes prior to the concert.


Pallas: 22410181 | LMS: 22352355 | |