Recital for clarinet and piano

János Bálint | clarinet

Nicolas Costantinou | piano


  • J. Brahms:

Sonata in F minor for clarinet and piano, Op. 120, No. 1

Sonata in E-flat major for clarinet and piano, Op. 120, No. 2

  • C. Y. Stylianou:

Sonata for clarinet and piano

Ledra Music Soloists invites you to a unique evening of chamber music for clarinet and piano with the internationally renowned clarinettist Gábor Varga and pianist Nicolas Costantinou. The two artists will present a captivating programme, including Brahms’ two masterful sonatas for clarinet and piano and the world premiere of the Clarinet Sonata by Constantinos Y. Stylianou.

In 1891, a year after he had decided to retire from composing, Brahms had first heard the renowned clarinettist Richard Mülfeld. Fascinated by the warmth and subtlety of his sound, he decided to return to composition, writing four wonderful works of chamber music for him. Incidentally, the two sonatas, op. 120, are the last works he composed. The two sonatas convey an ‘autumnal aura’ attributable to the circumstances of Brahms’ career, the mood of the music, and the lush sound of the clarinet.

Stylianou’s Sonata, which is dedicated to the guest clarinettist, is characterised by a deep lyricism, the scope of which ranges from moments of tenderness to moments of tragedy. In this work, the composer explores the instrument’s wide spectrum of sonic possibilities.



TICKETS | Stephanis (Stephanis Stores)

Theatre box office on the night of the performance

Full-price €15 | Concessions* €10

* LMS members, pensioners, full-time students, soldiers

Important notice: We encourage patrons to purchase tickets in advance as seating is limited and assigned numerically. Alternatively, patrons may purchase available tickets at the box office only on the evening of the performance.

99744227 | |