Bi-communal Chamber Music Concert

Saturday, 17 September 2016 | 19:30
Pallas Cinema – Theatre, Lefkosia

Nicolas Costantinou [piano]
Narden Sonel [piano]
George Georgiou [clarinet]
Nikos Pittas [violin]
Ayşe Karaoğlan [violin]
Sinem Sadrazam [viola]
Miranda Papaneokleous [cello]


Béla Bartók (1881–1945): Contrasts, Sz. 111, BB 116 (1938)
Ernő Dohnányi (1877–1960): Suite en Valse, op. 39 (1943)
Johannes Brahms (1833–1897): Quintet in F minor, op. 34 (1864)

Ledra Music Soloists announces an innovative bi-communal concert with the participation of some of the best Greek- and Turkish-Cypriot musicians. The repertoire of the concert is symbolically taken from the musical traditions of Austria and Hungary and their historical coexistence as Austro-Hungarian Empire. The concert aims to show that cultural diversity can be a catalytic factor to inspiration giving rise to new traditions. Our aim is to facilitate the mobility of high quality musicians throughout the island, the interaction of which (through sharing of cultural traditions and artistic knowledge) will lead not only to further musical development but will also help promote a common vision for our future.

Under the auspices of the Minister of Education and Culture Dr. Costas Kadis